top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Jager

Out of the Wild


Habitat loss—due to destruction, fragmentation, or degradation of habitat—is the primary threat to the survival of wildlife in the United States. When an ecosystem has been dramatically changed by human activities—such as agriculture, oil and gas exploration, commercial development, or water diversion—it may no longer be able to provide the food, water, cover, and places to raise young that wildlife need to survive. Every day there are fewer places left that wildlife can call home. (The National Wildlife Federation)


Advanced Art students explored the loss of the habitats by painting an animal in an unusual habitat, indicating the loss of their original home. In group discussions, students shared personal stories that they had experienced and researched about wild animals. We also talked about changing habitats and how some animals have been displaced and have been able to adapt to their environments to survive. Students were challenged to portray an animal as their main subject in an environment it wouldn't normally call home to show appreciation for its species and showcase its beauty.


We reviewed painting techniques in watercolor and tempera paint and then students were given creative freedom to create their final artworks. Some decided to commit to watercolor while others experimented with mixed media and collage to represent their habitats.


Red Panda in the New World

I placed the red panda on a power line to suggest over-urbanization and the effect that it can have on wildlife such as the red panda's habitat destruction.


Winter Crow

I chose to paint a crow because crows have a bad reputation. I placed my crow in the arctic because you will never find a crow living there. My artwork reflects the loss of a habitat for a crow because crows and other birds fly south for the winter to stay warm. I was proud that I blended the colors in the way I wanted to.


Peacock on the Beach

I have always loved peacocks because they are such beautiful animals. I saw peacocks in person while I was on the Spain trip this year. I created a beach environment in my artwork because the beach is my favorite place to be and I have always thought about how amazing it would be to see a peacock on the beach because you wouldn't expect to see one there since that is not where it belongs.


Black Panther

I wanted to show a panther strolling down the sidewalk of a small town like New Buffalo. I used paper collage from old books to represent the stores in the background. I chose this environment because you would never actually see a panther downtown. I think this painting reflects habitat loss because a lot of animals’ habitats have been destroyed and they find themselves entering cities or towns.


Mama Raccoon

This painting represents a raccoon finding shelter where she can for her babies. I imagined oil cans in the forest with a raccoon creating a temporary home within them. Raccoons can be very resourceful and I can picture this happening with a mother doing whatever she could to provide for her young.


Citizen of the Earth

My title for this artwork is based on the concept of animals being hunted or persecuted as a result of displacement from habitat loss. In India, deforestation and poaching have forced many animals out of their homes and into the nearby environments: cities. These animals, especially predatory animals, are being trapped on both ends by human interference. My goal was to make the painting feel both tranquil (for the tiger passing through the recently-abandoned marketplace) and melancholy (the feeling of loneliness of the tiger’s existence, of having the one’s home destroyed and to be unwanted in what is rightfully yours). This could also be perceived as a commentary on the imperialism of the human race over the earth; each organism is an inhabitant of the same general place with the same rights and standards as every other. Humans are the only species that have created this artificial dominance over each environment that we may encounter.


Non-metaphorically, this painting is fine, but not really what i had in mind. If I were to change some things, I would make the proportions and movement of the tiger more realistic (i.e. larger head, shorter tail, etc.), and alter the general background. My intention was not to create a whimsical marketplace scene but rather a chaotic bazaar, so the end result was disappointing. However, there are some things I like about this painting. The stripes of the tiger are unique and don’t blend with the black markings of the background, the watercolor isn’t as streaky as i expected it to be, and I was able to imply some dimension without making very many objects. Overall, this was my first attempt at watercolor and something of an experiment, but i enjoyed the process and the story behind it.







45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page