top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Jager

Meet the new Art Teacher


Artists observe, explore, and express who they are through their artwork. Every person is a unique individual who can be empowered to think creatively and recognize meaning in life through their art-making. My goal as an art teacher is to bring out the best in my students.


I am excited to teach in New Buffalo this fall because it's been a few months since we've been together in school and I'm looking forward to meeting my students in person to start out the year. I grew up in the small town of Shipshewana, Indiana and graduated from a senior class of less than 100 students at Westview Jr-Sr High School. My art teacher in high school was full of enthusiasm and encouraged me to continue studying art when I went to Hope College to become a teacher. After teaching in Elkhart, Indiana for the first seven years of my career as a secondary art teacher, I am overjoyed to return to the lakeshore of West Michigan. 


With a new teaching position there are new possibilities, and I have the creative freedom to try different art projects with a variety of art media this year. I love creating artwork with hands-on media like clay and watercolor. I also have a special appreciation for the minute details around me when I study the beauty in nature through the lens of my camera or reinterpret what I see with my pencil on paper. I welcome you to follow this blog showcasing the amazing work my students will be creating in New Buffalo. Go Bison!







37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page